Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

icloud deleted my files from my desktop

At my wits end trying to figure this out for almost 20 solid hours.

Basically I've had my mac for around 6 months (my second mac). I've never used icloud before and i didn't really know what it was, and it kept telling me it was almost full and it was taking up loads of storage. So I logged out. Turns out if you log out it not only deletes the files from icloud but also the actual files themselves from the laptop. I am currently backpacking through Central America and most of the files that have gone are from my travels. I had them backed up on 2 separate external hard drives just in case i lost one of them. I plugged them in one after the other to just get the files back on my laptop and, I have no idea how but I think maybe icloud synced with them and then removed the files from both drives, too.

I recently cleared my sd card in my camera to free up the space, so basically, they're all gone. I've tried everything I can think of and everything others have suggested on forums. Some files are there, but they're xml files and when i click on them I get re-directed to a web page that doesnt do anything. I'm at a complete loss in every sense.

I just can't understand why icloud is so invasive and deletes the actual hard copies of the photos and videos too. Doesn't make any sense.

Anyway I guess I'm asking for any help and suggestions. I'm sure i would have already tried most of them, but I don't know what else to do.

Thanks is advance,

Dan.

MacBook Pro, OS X Mountain Lion (10.8.4)

Posted on Dec 17, 2017 3:27 PM

2 replies

Dec 17, 2017 5:20 PM in response to lankywhale