Announcement: Upgrade to macOS Mojave

With features like Dark Mode, Stacks, and four new built-in apps, macOS Mojave helps you get more out of every click. 
Find out how to upgrade to macOS Mojave > https://support.apple.com/macos/mojave

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Question:

Question: Downgrading From High Sierra to Mavericks

Hi All,

I've been all over the forums. Nothing has worked for me so far in trying to downgrade from High Sierra to Mavericks. Can anyone please advise me on this, as I've wasted so much time already - days in fact, and haven't progressed.

I have a mid-2012 2.9ghz i7 machine with 16 gb ram, and a 1tb SSD drive, so it's as fully expanded as it can be. I was until recently running 10.9.5 Mavericks on it, and it was fast and flawless. I have been running High Sierra now for quite a few months and it is just too slow on this machine.. maybe it's too much for my older spec machine to run at speed? Anyway, beside the point as I've decided definitely to go back to Mavericks again.

I read on a website I found in Google that with High Sierra, there's a new feature that allows you to just roll back to whatever system your Mac came with. After making a full Time Machine backup of my current High Sierra install and all associated files, I've tried rolling it back, and it fails every time. I do exactly what it says; having made the full High Sierra Time Machine backup, I then erase the hard drive, and re-install Mavericks, and then update it to 10.9.5. That's as far as I get, because when I then try to import personal settings etc to what I had in High Sierra, Time Machine says I can't restore anything because the backup was done on a newer OS (High Sierra), and that I need to upgrade to High Sierra before it can proceed!