Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

How do I move all Original content and data from the Cloud, to the iMac (Sierra OS 10.12.6) Hard Drive?

Losing Internet for months and need to move everything from iCloud to the iMac HD for accessing.

I have never used iCloud before getting this iMac w/ OS 10.12.6. I want to pull it down from the cloud so I can have a physical copy of everything on a Seagate 4 TB portable HD, with USB. Have no clue how to do this without making a mistake and later finding it's not on the Seagate.

iMac (Retina 4K, 21.5-inch, Late 2015), Model Name: iMac Model Identifie

Posted on Dec 17, 2017 5:31 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Dec 17, 2017 7:31 PM

As stated, you already have a local copy of everything. The iCloud Drive folder is sync'd with your Mac. If you enabled the Optimize Storage option, then it is possible to have some things only in the cloud if you run out of room on your Mac. In that case, the OS will purge large, rarely used files from your Mac to make space as needed.

However, if you wish to remove it from iCloud Drive, just drag it into another folder on your Mac that is not sync'd with iCloud Drive.

9 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Dec 17, 2017 7:31 PM in response to pjdxxxwa

As stated, you already have a local copy of everything. The iCloud Drive folder is sync'd with your Mac. If you enabled the Optimize Storage option, then it is possible to have some things only in the cloud if you run out of room on your Mac. In that case, the OS will purge large, rarely used files from your Mac to make space as needed.

However, if you wish to remove it from iCloud Drive, just drag it into another folder on your Mac that is not sync'd with iCloud Drive.

Dec 17, 2017 7:31 PM in response to pjdxxxwa

Hi, Eric and Barney,

I have read the comments and links, and needjust to verify what I think I am seeing. . .before I begin the process.