Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

MacBook Pro Retina Nvidia Drivers (macOS 10.13)

Hello,

I've been using macs since 2004 and iPhones/ipads since their release.

This is a bit of a frustrating message I'm going to post, with a question and hopefully someone can provide a solution.

It's normal that any operating system release sees bugs and subsequent releases fixes those. But with the recent advent of bugs and problems plaguing slightly older hardware (see iPhone 6, 6s and 7 with iOS https://tinyurl.com/y8ld3zlj) it is absolutely mind-boggling that Apple would allow a release of High Sierra macOS 10.13 without warning people who have MacBook Pro Retinas (mine is a late 2013) with Nvidia GT 750M that Nvidia still hasn't released a compatible driver to work well with macOS 10.13. So I've been using a subpar machine since the release of High Sierra because Apple/Nvidia or Nvidia/Apple haven't upheld their part of keeping machines up to date.

Last year we had a bit of a similar problem and I posted a discussion about this (which prompted an Apple engineer to call me directly btw), and it was resolved in a matter of a couple weeks from the time Sierra was released last year. But this year is beyond ridiculous (first that it happened again, and second that it's taking this long). Here's a post of last year's (exact same) problem with Sierra macOS Sierra & NVIDIA GPU