Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Press and Hold Function for Accents

I can no longer press and hold a key to get the accents box this is very frustrating as I am studying italian please can someone help me?

MacBook Air, OS X Yosemite (10.10.2), null

Posted on Jan 2, 2018 7:36 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jan 4, 2018 10:20 AM

Yep! I've checked the slider and that's on and I have added numerous international and foreign keyboards to no avail I think I have to just accept that this is probably low on Apple's 'to do' list as I am not the only one with this problem a lot of people are complaining about it after upgrading to the latest version of High Sierra recently. I have found that using alt+e gives me one accent and alt + ` gives me the other but it is hit and miss getting the pressure right on the latter one, its so annoying. Hopefully another update will get it sorted.

Will this problem get referred back to the 'powers that be'?

Thanks for trying Tom

30 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Jan 4, 2018 10:20 AM in response to Tom Gewecke

Yep! I've checked the slider and that's on and I have added numerous international and foreign keyboards to no avail I think I have to just accept that this is probably low on Apple's 'to do' list as I am not the only one with this problem a lot of people are complaining about it after upgrading to the latest version of High Sierra recently. I have found that using alt+e gives me one accent and alt + ` gives me the other but it is hit and miss getting the pressure right on the latter one, its so annoying. Hopefully another update will get it sorted.

Will this problem get referred back to the 'powers that be'?