Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

High Sierra update distorting my AVCHD video

Hello all,

I am new to FCPX as of Nov. '17, I was a user of Adobe Premier Pro with a PC but switched to Mac and FCPX because I was tired of the render times. Nevertheless, here is my issue. I record sermons with my church using an old Canon Vixia HF200 that send to a SD card format AVCHD. I am very please with FCPX because I can edit while it renders, super fast and I love it. UNTIL, I upgraded to High Sierra.

Once I upgraded I started noticing some digital distortion at the top of my frames every two or three minutes. I have been talking to a Senior Advisor with Apple and have done many shares with them concerning why all of the sudden I am getting this distortion once its imported into FCPX.

I never had this with Sierra, all my AVCHD files render fine until this update. Do I need to render my AVCHD files to ProRes first? If so what software should I use?

I am planning on getting a new 4k camera that does live stream this next month and hoping this will solve my problem because Im using a 9 year old DH video camera. But in the mean time, is anyone else having these issues and how can I avoid this.

The distortion is if you have Dish network ( which I dont anymore ) and the reception is bad and you get a digital distortion on the video.

Help

Posted on Jan 11, 2018 12:05 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jan 12, 2018 1:44 PM