Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Ion-X glass on Apple Watch 3

Hi,

Does anyone know Apple has decided to use Ion-X glass on all Apple Watch 3 models? As far as I know (I may be mistaken), previous Apple Watch models had sapphire glass and Ion-X was used only for Sports model.
I wear my Apple Watch 3 for just 1 month yet, but they already had several minor scratches that could be seen only under specific angles and lightning, but they still irritated me a lot. Today I've got another set of scratches on my Watch when I've accidentally touched a tile for just a moment, but they look like a really awful result of purposeful contact with a piece of sandpaper or something like that.
Maybe I am being strict in my judgement, but I've been using G-shocks for previous 7 years that haven't suffered any glass scratches at all and I just can't understand how it is possible to use such awful glass in such pretty expensive product as Apple Watch.
I live in Cyprus right now, so there isn't even any way to reach official service centre or Geniuses in Apple Store to issue a glass replacement. I also see that there is no Apple Watch glass replacement coverage in basic Apple Care guarantee program and it isn't a cheap procedure. Apple Watch was one of the reasons I've decided to switch to iPhone from Android devices, but right now I feel terribly upset about buying this product at all (though it is definitely state-of-art gadget) ...

Apple Watch Series 3, null

Posted on Jan 18, 2018 1:03 AM

2 replies

Jan 18, 2018 2:05 AM in response to d.salnikov23

Hi

Ion-X glass

Yes - Apple Watch Series 3 models with aluminium cases have Ion-X glass. Series 3 models with stainless steel or ceramic cases (Edition models) have sapphire crystal, which is heavier than Ion-X glass, but more scratch resistant:

Apple Watch - Compare - Apple

Scratches