Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

I am using an external drive for a time machine backup. It has disappeared from the desktop. How do I get it back again?

I have been using a Lacie external drive for backup for about 2 1/2 years. The 3 TB drive is about 2/3 full. It has suddenly disappeared from the desktop. The time machine program tells me it is unavailable. When it 1st told me yesterday, I noticed the drive was turned off. I turned it back on and the icon showed back up on the desktop. Later in the day the same thing happened. This time drive was still on. I opened Time Machine and the icon popped back on to the screen. This happened a few more times. Now I get the "unavailable message" and the icon won't come back. I've tried unplugging and plugging in plugs, turning the Lacie off and on, and it doesn't come back.

Is this a problem with the drive or the computer?

Posted on Feb 28, 2018 7:06 AM

5 replies

Feb 28, 2018 9:08 AM in response to Rudegar

Does not show in Disk Uti. If by "Finder" you mean File/Find, a Lacie icon shows up, but I believe it's an older one as I think its a different color. It does not open when double clicked.

Also, when I turn on the external drive, the light comes on, but there is no whirring, and I feel absolutely no vibration from within. Is that an indication the external is shot?

Feb 28, 2018 9:49 AM in response to Encryptor5000

Here's what I get. What does it mean?

/dev/disk0 (internal, physical):

#: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER

0: GUID_partition_scheme *1.0 TB disk0

1: EFI EFI 209.7 MB disk0s1

2: Apple_CoreStorage Macintosh HD 999.3 GB disk0s2

3: Apple_Boot Recovery HD 650.0 MB disk0s3

/dev/disk1 (internal, virtual):

#: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER

0: Apple_HFS Macintosh HD +999.0 GB disk1

Logical Volume on disk0s2

48146AD6-32D4-4356-8E88-274DD21DE43C

Unencrypted

Feb 28, 2018 3:13 PM in response to spyderweb23