Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

C programming - getch() and putch()

I know that if i define <curses> that it will give me some functionality with the getch() function. Let it be noted I am a very baby new programmer and know almost nothing and have almost zero logic. I found the man getch and it mentions something about an ungetch and a wgetch ... are these similar in use to putch? there is no man putch ... google is ambiguous... need help ... please. End desired outcome is me being able to have unbuffered input ...

MacBook Air, macOS High Sierra (10.13.3), C language, programming, putch()

Posted on Mar 2, 2018 7:48 AM

7 replies

Mar 2, 2018 9:41 AM in response to _circledancer

Your professor is not teaching you how to use buffered vs unbuffered I/O. Your professor is teaching basic programming. In this context, Microsoft Visual Studio is just a learning tool. You should install Windows and Visual Studio on your Mac. I strongly recommend Parallels Desktop Lite on the Mac App Store. It will cost some money, as will Windows. Maybe you can get an educational version of Windows through your school. There are some cheaper, and free, alternatives to Parallels too. My recommendation is just based on my experience.

This is not a question about which platform you will or should use. One of the key questions when developing software is "what are your metrics"? How do you decide if your software is successful? In this case, your professor decides that and will evaluate it in a Windows context. Those are your requirements. Therefore, you need to make sure you fulfill those requirements.

The goal is to learn whatever programming tasks are covered in the class. Those basic programming concepts will apply equally well to the Mac or iOS. The buffered vs unbuffered I/O is just an exercise that is part of the course.

Mar 2, 2018 8:53 AM in response to _circledancer