Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

I'm working in pages and it won't let me save my document. A popup appears saying document could not be autosaved?- Why

I am working on a document on Pages on my Macbook Pro (High Sierra) and keep getting the following warning : The document “Untitled 18” could not be autosaved. The file has been changed by another application.

I know I can override it but it happens with every doccument. What is going on?

There is no other application that could be changing my document and although I have an iphone, there is no link between Pages and my phone that I am aware of. Help please, it is highly annoying.

MacBook Pro with Retina display, macOS High Sierra (10.13.3)

Posted on Mar 11, 2018 5:37 AM

13 replies

Mar 18, 2018 6:27 AM in response to OddMama

The other documents were empty. I am a teacher and was starting to write reports, opening the number of windows needed for the children in my group. I have done this method for years, first in Word and now in Pages, I have never had a problem until this month. I always save them under a file name. I had just started working, which is why they had not had file names yet. They are not open longer than I am working on them, which is a day, and after I start the file by writing the introduction paragraph I manually save it.

The question I was asking was why, now after 20 years of using my computer's word processing applications in this way, am I getting this warning? Why is it saying that other applications have changed the file? What other application could have changed the file. That is the question.

Apr 25, 2018 12:59 PM in response to PeterBreis0807