Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Question:

Question: What wattage DC power inverter is required to charge a 15" MacBook Pro.

I am an over the road trucker. The inverter I use to keep my iPhone and various electronics charged does not provide enough wattage to keep the 15" MacBook Pro charged.

Posted on

Page content loaded

Mar 13, 2018 9:10 PM in response to Kappy In response to Kappy

Kappy wrote:

85 watts is the regular charger's wattage.

I think that's only the output. There can be substantial loss from the input because of the conversion.

My 60W power adapter says output is 16.5V at 3.65A, which is 60.336W. However, the input says 1.5A at 100-240V. At minimum that's 150W (at 100V) although I'm pretty sure that it's a peak value. It obviously doesn't say how it scales with a typical 110-120V source like an inverter.

For the OP, what does it say on the power adapter for the input current? I'm thinking that you probably want at least 200W. Most inverters are rated for a specific steady output and a higher peak output.

Mar 13, 2018 9:10 PM

Reply Helpful

Mar 14, 2018 7:18 AM in response to y_p_w In response to y_p_w