Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Question:

Question: iPhone to iMac videos not recognized

I am baffled. I have the cloud send my photos and videos from my phone to my computer in Photos, and I had been doing it this way for a few years. Then a year or so ago, I updated my mac to the newest OS at the time (can't recall the name of it). I noticed that my uploads were not complete. It would skip several photos and videos. When I would plug in my phone to the computer, it would do the same. I finally got a new computer this past month. It has the latest OS Sierra, and while all my photos are recognized and uploaded fine, NONE of the videos upload. I have searched for answers to this problem and even tried a few, but nothing is working. It is terribly time consuming to try and message videos to myself and then transfer them to Photos by drag/drop. Does anyone know if this is a regular issue or is it just me? Any advice or ideas? I am very frustrated. And no. It is NOT user error.

iPhone 6, iOS 11.2.6

Posted on

Page content loaded

Mar 16, 2018 3:43 AM in response to malval7 In response to malval7

I noticed that my uploads were not complete. It would skip several photos and videos. When I would plug in my phone to the computer, it would do the same.

There may be several reasons -

• The format of the media on your iPhone: if your iPhone can use HEIF/HEVC, you need to change the settings and upgrade to High Sierra as Larry suggested, see: Using HEIF or HEVC media on Apple devices - Apple Support
  • iCloud Photo Library: If the upgrade to iOS 11 enable iCloud Photo Library on your iPhone, many media files will no longer be stored locally on the iPhone, but only in iCloud and you simply cannot download them using USB connection, unless you ensure that they will download from iCloud to your iPhone. Check, if iCloud Photo Library has become enabled on the iPhone without you noticing it.