Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Play DVD's Problem: PowerBook G3 Lombard / Bronze Keyboard 400MHz

I have a Powerbook G3 Lombard / Bronze keyboard with the following specifications:

400MHz processor

128GB Hard Drive

512MB RAM

OS X 10.4.11

OS 9.2.2

I've read online that this model will play DVD's only if booted into the classic Mac OS (8.6-9.2.2). This is because the 400MHz model includes onboard MPEG-2 decoding.

I've tried to watch a DVD by booting into classic mode (OS 9.2.2) while in OS X, but I just get this message:

"That application or control panel is not supported by Classic."

I've also tried to watch a DVD by booting directly into OS 9.2.2, but this just gives me an error message that reads:

"This Macintosh does not support the Apple DVD Player. Error number (301)."

I even tried watching a DVD while booted only into OS X, but get an error message that reads:

"There was an initialization error. The current machine or system configuration is not supported. [-70013]"

Does anyone now how I can watch DVD's on my Powerbook G3 Lombard? Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

PowerBook, Mac OS X (10.4.11), 400MHz Lombard / Bronze Keyboard

Posted on Mar 17, 2018 10:33 PM

2 replies

Apr 7, 2018 8:21 AM in response to rusticmountain

SOLVED

I decided to erase the partition I had OS 9.2.2 on and reinstall the operating system.
I only had the OS and one application installed on this partition so doing this wasn’t a big deal.
Post reinstallation of the OS and Apple DVD Player 1.3 I'm happy to report I can now watch DVD’s on my Lombard!

Here’s what I did differently that I think solved the problem:
I had initially installed MAC OS 9.2.2 Universal (2013 edition) which I had downloaded from the Macintosh Repository.
I noticed in the notes about this edition of OS 9.2.2 it stated: