Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Mojave Spell Check False Flags

MacOS Mojave (10.14) is flagging grammar issues in its spell check routine. I wouldn't mind this if the information was correct, but it's not. It's tagging words like "it's" and "here" as incorrect, though they are entirely correct in their usage.

Yes, I've checked all my apps to make sure "grammar" is unchecked as an option. I've checked System Preferences/Keyboard/Text options to make sure I'm using local language instead of Auto. Everything is as it should be. I can only assume this is a bug.

This is annoying because I'm a writer and the global OS is flagging things it shouldn't. Spell check exists to check for typos, and grammar checking should be strictly under Grammar settings. They should remain separate.

MacBook Pro TouchBar and Touch ID, macOS Mojave (10.14)

Posted on Oct 4, 2018 9:52 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Nov 1, 2018 10:02 AM

I'm seeing this intermittently in both Messages and Nisus Writer Pro. In Messages, at least, with grammar checking explicitly disabled. (If NWP has a setting for that I'm not sure where it is.)

User uploaded file

(note “too” underlined)

User uploaded file

I suspect this is related to the idiotic way iOS likes to make corrections like “were” to “we’re”—which I always figured was some kind of machine learning gone wrong. I could live with this kind of buggy spellcheck in Messages, but to have it happening in a word processor is annoying AF.

23 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Nov 1, 2018 10:02 AM in response to Mike Mcclure

I'm seeing this intermittently in both Messages and Nisus Writer Pro. In Messages, at least, with grammar checking explicitly disabled. (If NWP has a setting for that I'm not sure where it is.)

User uploaded file

(note “too” underlined)

User uploaded file