Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Time capsule won’t backup via WiFi or Ethernet

I have had trouble backing up my MacBook Air running High Sierra to my Time Capsule that has been in use for a number or years. When attempting via WiFi it takes forever in preparing mode, eventually starts backing up and then fails, sometimes after over 24 hours of backing up. I’ve also attempted to backup via Ethernet as a workaround, which I have never done before. I’ve connected everything, turned off wifi I am able to enter the time capsule and have an internet connection. But, when I initiate a backup it goes into preparing mode for 5-10 minuets and stops without any message.

My wife’s air with the same settings is not having the same issues. Any tips would be appreciated. Thanks!

Posted on Nov 22, 2018 12:34 PM

Similar questions

33 replies

Dec 15, 2018 6:58 PM in response to smsdiego6

Yeah.. there are times it just gets like.. why I am carry rocks up a hill.. to throw them down again.. so it feels lighter when going down..

A. The DNS server is 192.168.1.254 but it is greyed out.. so it might be worth filling it in.

It is totally irrelevant so whether it has DNS or not is of no concern to your network.

B.. I will do this another way..

C. IPv6 is on your local computer.. under network preferences.. and I gave you the screenshot. But I did forget to say reproduce this. The box where it says configure IPv6:

On your computer it will default to Automatically. This is wrong setting 50% of the time.. you need to alter it to link-local only.

Now come back to B.. The problems with main router giving you the wrong domain.. but in a situation where you cannot manually fix it.. I am going to suggest something else on top of the suggestions already made..

I still want you to go ahead..

A. Set a static IP on the Internet tab.. but give it the following EXACTLY.. you will need to fill it in yourself.