Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Network Printing: Epson Stylus Pro 9600

Forgive me if I sound like n00b, since I am new at this Mac administration thing. 🙂 I got stuck taking care of a small network of various Macs at work. These are in our graphics design dept. They have an Epson Stylus Pro 9600 that they have been using, mainly with Adobe Photoshop and Illustrator.

Anyway, as far as I can tell, they were using the Epson via AppleTalk/Bonjour. The problem is that I was told from on high that this is a big no-no. So, I tried to setup the Epson on our Active Directory network. I assigned it an IP address, and made sure it was connected. The two main users were able to see it with the new IP address in the Print setup utility, and everything seemed ok.

When I tried printing something, however, the job hangs up. Finally, it will give an error that it could not communicate with the printer. The odd thing is that everything appears ok, and I can ping the printer address from the machines in question. Any suggestions?

The machines are a mix of G4/G5s all running 10.4.8.

Mac OS X (10.4.8)

Posted on Mar 13, 2007 8:40 PM

10 replies

Mar 14, 2007 5:30 AM in response to steve2112

If the Epson driver supports network printing, it will be called something like Epson TCP/IP, and will be found after clicking More Printers. Is that what you're using?