Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Mac Pro - new setup for gaming

Hi Everyone,

I've been thinking for some time now about getting a new Mac to replace my old G5/2.5Ghz, and would like to really squeeze as much out of it as possible. To that end I was thinking about installing faster hard drives, more RAM (ahem, obviously) and a video card cooler. As you may suspect, I'm a bit new to this, although I would still have no problems poking around the innards of a mac.

Here's what I was thinking of getting:
Apple Mac Pro, 2.66Ghz, minimum spec + X1900
Western Digital Raptor 150GB 10000rpm x2, striped (raid 0)
4Gb RAM from Crucial (cheaper than Apple BTO)
Arctic Cooling ATI Silencer Accelero X2
(total comes to under £2500)

I've been reading these forums for the past couple of days (kudos to The Hatter, btw), and this has helped greatly. However, do these sound like decent choices? Should I use the WD Raptors as my startup disk? Would you recommend anything for keeping the hard drives quiet? Is the video card cooler necessary? Am I talking complete rubbish?

When I say "gaming", I'm really only talking about World of Warcraft. Currently I have a 22" CRT monitor, which I'm looking at replacing with the NEC MultiSync 20WGX.

So, apologies about this slightly rambling post. If there's any advice or feedback you can give, that would be most welcome.

G5/2.5 dual / 9600 XT / 2Gb RAM Mac OS X (10.4.8)

G5/2.5 dual / 9600 XT / 2Gb RAM, Mac OS X (10.4.7)

Posted on Apr 5, 2007 5:10 AM

5 replies

Apr 5, 2007 5:38 AM in response to Rob Allen

Thanks for the vote. 🙂

RAID is what you want for scratch and editing, not for boot drive. StorageReview has tried to educate folks on the topic, and tests on Macs show it is only helps on real heavy Photoshop. Barefeats has some tests between RAID and non.