Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Apple Store RAM Installation

Hi everyone, this is my first post here so please be gentle. 🙂

I'm from the UK but I'm about to embark on a road trip in the States in a couple of weeks. I'm a photographer and considering I use Aperture and Photoshop extensively I have been thinking about upgrading my MBP's RAM from 1GB to 2GB (2x1GB sticks). With the strong pound I figured I would do this when I get Stateside.

My question is, does anyone know how much Apple charges to install RAM in a US Apple Store? I know in the UK it's £23.50 (I called and asked) so I was wondering if there's an equivalent figure. I'm an Applecare member but I'm assuming that even though I'm buying the RAM from the Apple Store, they wouldn't install it for free?

And yes, I know that 'third party' RAM is cheaper and I could install it myself, but I can't be bothered going searching for a Phillips 00 screwdriver and I also need to make sure that it works right off the bat as I'll need it for the trip, so I'd rather pay the extra and have Apple do everything for me. I'm just wondering if it's cost effective to get it done in the States, or maybe just bite the bullet and get it done here. It would cost £263.50 (about US$520) to get the upgrade at the Apple Store, Regent Street.

Thanks guys! I've been lurking here for a while now but I finally decided to come out and join the discussions! If anyone could help I'd be very grateful.

Macbook Pro 15" Mac OS X (10.4.9)

Posted on Jun 7, 2007 11:28 AM

8 replies

Jun 7, 2007 11:41 AM in response to Cinesister

User uploaded fileWelcome to the Discussions!

$520! That is robbery in the truest sense of the word!