Apple’s Worldwide Developers Conference to kick off June 10 at 10 a.m. PDT with Keynote address

The Keynote will be available to stream on apple.com, the Apple Developer app, the Apple TV app, and the Apple YouTube channel. On-demand playback will be available after the conclusion of the stream.

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

GPS with no cell service

I am new to iPhones and bought the new one for GPS but if I get where there is no cell service, as in the national forest in Oregon last week, there is no service and hence no GPS. I think that dedicated GPS units don't have this problem but have never used one before. Am I doing something wrong or is there a workaround/solution to this?

SONY VAIO, Windows XP Pro

Posted on Aug 14, 2008 10:19 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Aug 26, 2008 10:57 PM

Here's my experience on this topic. I was recently at a remote beach in SW Western Australia, with absolutely NO cell service.
However, i wanted to drop a pin in maps to pinpoint my location for when I wanted to go back.
If you open maps with no cell service, you WILL get just a blank screen - HOWEVER, GPS still works FINE, and allows you to drop a pin with no problems. When I got back to an area with cell service, there was the pin, in the correct location, now with the correct map.
So while it's not very useful when out of cell range, the GPS chip does know where you are, and you can mark your location for later reference.
33 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Aug 26, 2008 10:57 PM in response to PGORDINI

Here's my experience on this topic. I was recently at a remote beach in SW Western Australia, with absolutely NO cell service.
However, i wanted to drop a pin in maps to pinpoint my location for when I wanted to go back.