Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

MacBook Pro (April 2009) Mini Displayport to HDMI convertor (no audio)

Hi all,

I purchased this MacBook Pro 15" last week, it's one of the new core i7 ones. This is my first mac and so far I am pretty pleased.

Anyways, I purchased a Mini Display Port (Male) to HDMI (Female) Convertor from NCIX (link: http://ncix.com/products/?sku=41249&vpn=Y-5119HF&manufacture=Unitek). When hook up the adapter between my Mac and TV, I get video out (1080p) but no audio!

Since, I am new to this OS, maybe I missed something in the System Preferences panel? Any help is appreciated, I would love to be able to listen to my music through my home theater system. Thanks!

Message was edited by: aren55555

April 2010 MacBook Pro, Mac OS X (10.6.3), Core i7, 1680x1050

Posted on Apr 28, 2010 1:12 PM

28 replies

Apr 30, 2010 2:58 AM in response to aren55555

there appear to be a number of adaptors / cables that won't do the job properly with sound.

You can find some discussion of the matter HERE but note that some cables from Monoprice (mentioned in the article) also apparently don't work.

THis one from Griffin apparently does work.

Apple also have a brief knowledgebase item about the matter at http://support.apple.com/kb/TS3065

Cheers

Rod

May 6, 2010 3:29 PM in response to aren55555

Just received an adapter I purchased off eBay for less then $10. Works great, with audio. Purchased from eBay store "Smartlaptopparts". Make sure it says in the ad that it supports audio pass through before you buy. Also, when setting up for HDTV display, you have to go to System Preferences/Sound and select your listed TV on the 'Output' tab. That's what did it for me.

May 8, 2010 9:20 AM in response to jwag1200