Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Where are the Firewall logs????

I'm new to Macs, but log time Security Guy. I'm running Suricata on my PFsense firewall and there are connections being blocked as malicious. I want to know what process on my Mac Mini made these connections by a log that associates IP connections with processes. I've looked in Console>/var/log>appfirewall.log and other places to no avail. Does anyone know were to look or how to turn on logging for this information?

Mac mini 2018 or later

Posted on Jan 8, 2019 2:11 PM

6 replies

Feb 15, 2019 10:10 PM in response to FoxReader

The sky is perpetually falling for some people. Excerpted from Effective defenses against malware and other threats:

• Ignore hyperventilating popular media outlets that thrive by promoting fear and discord with entertainment products arrogantly presented as "news".

"With this technique it is possible to run whitelisted software without user intervention even if the system is set to disallow unknown applications downloaded from the internet.":

Downloading unknown applications from the Internet happens all the time. That's what people do. It's also the reason Apple incorporated Gatekeeper. A user has to explicitly permit installing such things by providing Admin credentials. One day Apple will lock down macOS to the same degree they do iOS, and we will all be nice and safe inside their walled garden. What a lovely thought. Right?

"TAU has obtained new samples of this malware and observed downloads of the malware from multiple sites, primarily disguised as an Adobe Flash software update."