Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Would Love Your Help - imac from 2011/2012 gets to apple logo loading - then freezes on a grey screen

Hi there,

I'm by no means a pro, so I'm sorry for any stupidity in this post.

My iMac has been working perfectly for years, with the exception of two years ago when the internal HDD died.

I have since been running my OS from a bootable harddrive, and everything has been fine.

About a week ago, upon start-up, I'd hear a clicking sound 5 or 6 times - but everything was still working fine.

Then two days ago, the trouble started.

Sometimes it'd make it to the desktop, but would freeze.

Sometimes, it would get to the apple logo and the progress bar would finish, but then would go to a grey screen and stay there.

Sometimes, it would get to the apple logo but freeze during the loading, with the progress bar only half-loaded.

I thought it was the external drive, so I went and bought a new and better one. I made it a bootable drive, and tried it out...

Turned out the clicking sound was coming from the iMac, not the drive, and the problem persisted. The issue wasn't with the drive (I tested both of them on my macbook and they booted up fine - duh - should have done that before i bought a second external HDD).

I can log into safe mode, fine. Which makes me think the problem is with one of the components that don't function in safe mode.

Is there anything I can do to figure this out? I realise it's 8 years old but I bought the best model with all the upgrades an it cost me a lot of money, and don't really have 3 or 4 thousand dollars to spend on a new desktop at the moment.