Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

"Can't get POSIX file" error from AppleScripts

I'm trying to write an InDesign script with AppleScript, I'm very new to AppleScripting(and Bash) and I'm struggling to find a way to accomplish a certain task. The goal of the InDesign script is to get all of the files in a group of directories and then export them as pdf. I'm able to get all of the files in a single directory like this

tell application "Finder"
	set MyList to files of folder POSIX file "/Users/User/Desktop/Group-of-folders/folder-with-several-files" as alias list
end tell
repeat with aFile in MyList
	tell application "Adobe InDesign CC 2019"
		set fileName to do shell script "basename " & quoted form of (POSIX path of aFile) & "| cut -d. -f1"
		set myDocument to open aFile
		tell active document
			export format PDF type to "/Users/User/Desktop/All PDF Exports" & fileName & ".pdf"
		end tell
		close active document saving no
	end tell
end repeat

This works fine for just one folder but I would like the script to make a list of all the sub-directories inside the "Group-of-folders" and then repeat the above script inside each directory.

I've tried various combinations of the following and I keep getting the error "Can't get POSIX file \"/Users/user....?\"

set myFolderList to folders of folder POSIX file "/Users/User/Desktop/Group-of-folders/" as alias list
	repeat with aFolder in myFolderList
		set filePath to (POSIX path of aFolder)
		set MyList to files of folder POSIX file filePath as alias list
	end repeat
end tell

error "Finder got an error: Can’t get POSIX file \"/Users/User/Desktop/Group-of-folders/Sub-folder-1/\"." number -1728 from file "Apple SSD:Users:User:Desktop:Group-of-folders:Sub-folder-1:"

Posted on May 21, 2019 4:39 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on May 21, 2019 5:16 PM

Use the following:

set myFolderList to folders of folder "Desktop:Group-of-folders" of home