Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

how to move files from most recently modified folder one level up using AppleScript (Big Sur)

I'm not a newbie to (or an expert on) scripting and programming, but after a few hours, I am stumped at how to copy a file (after having googled and tried various things for a few hours) using AppleScript in this situation.

I want to move a file from the most recently modified folder one level up. I'm trying to move the file:

/Users/tsg/my downloads folder/newest folder/pdfs/target1.pdf

to

/Users/tsg/my downloads folder/newest folder/target1.pdf

Where "newest folder" is not a constant name, but will change as I download newer folders.

When I run the code below

tell application "Finder"

set downloadFolder to POSIX file "/Users/tsg/my downloads folder" as alias
        set latestModifiedFolder to (downloadFolder & (name of last item of (sort every folder of downloadFolder by modification date)))
        set targetFolder to latestModifiedFolder (* Is this necessary? *)
        set pdfFolder to (targetFolder & ":pdfs:")
        set pdfFile to (pdfFolder & ("target1.pdf"))
        move pdfFile to targetFolder

end tell

I get the error

"Finder got an error: Can’t make {alias "Macintosh HD:Users:tsg:my downloads folder:", "newest folder"} into type folder." number -1700 from {alias "Macintosh HD:Users:tsg:my downloads folder:", "newest folder"} to folder

If I add the modifier folder: "move pdfFile to folder targetFolder" for the last line before "end tell", I get

"Finder got an error: Can’t make {alias "Macintosh HD:Users:tsg:my downloads folder:", "newest folder"} into type integer." number -1700 from {alias "Macintosh HD:Users:tsg:my downloads folder:", "newest folder"} to integer"

If I add the modifier file "move file pdfFile to folder targetFolder", I get