Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Questions regarding "Apple Music" replacing “iTunes”

By now everyone has heard that soon the “iTunes” name will be replaced by three Apple Apps (Apple Music; Apple Podcast and Apple TV). It has been announced this will first take place with devices using

certain Apple operating systems. I’m sure this change will eventually be coming to users of computers running on Windows 10, such as my computer.

Here are my questions regarding this change:

1.  If I subscribe to Apple Music now, will I still have access to my iTunes music library?

2.  I have been using the iTunes app for many years. Over that time, my iTunes music library has grown to 1248 items purchased through the iTunes Apple Store as well as imported CDs and other sources. My library is sourced from a folder structure located on my computer hard drive in case the internet access goes down. I do not have any other devices, only this computer. What will happen to my library when the change occurs?

3. Will I still be able to make purchases through the Apple Store?

4.  Will I still be able to access the Album Info, Song Info (Comments, Artwork and Lyrics) and Playlists in my library? For that matter, is it even worth continuing to add song lyrics and playlists knowing

that this change is eventually coming?

5.  Will I have an option to keep my iTunes app as it is? I believe this answer will be "No."

I would like to know the answers ahead of time so that I have some idea as to what to

expect and so I may do a backup of my library before the change occurs.

Windows, Windows 10

Posted on Jun 6, 2019 4:54 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jun 7, 2019 11:26 AM