Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

jar file

hello people i have this problem with my jar file when i try to open a jar file this error mesagge accurs

This java file could not be launched check the console for possible error mesagges. i tride searching for it but all the videos that i found are all from 4 to 5 years ago and they dont work so if anyone can help please reply

Please And Thank You

(sorry if i misspelled anything im not very good at typing)

iMac Pro

Posted on Jun 18, 2019 1:50 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jun 20, 2019 2:15 PM

So it looks like the problem is with that Jar itself, it's not been set up properly, internally, to be executable.

It leads me to wonder are you sure it's designed to be ran (i.e. it is an installer or application) and not a module or plugin for another program?

For example, this is a random test/sample Java program that will open a window on your Mac:

http://www.java2s.com/Code/Jar/s/Downloadsamplejar.htm

If that comes up for you then you know your Java is working and it's something with that particular Java JAR file you're trying to run.

4 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Jun 20, 2019 2:15 PM in response to MaxRy

So it looks like the problem is with that Jar itself, it's not been set up properly, internally, to be executable.

It leads me to wonder are you sure it's designed to be ran (i.e. it is an installer or application) and not a module or plugin for another program?

For example, this is a random test/sample Java program that will open a window on your Mac:

http://www.java2s.com/Code/Jar/s/Downloadsamplejar.htm

If that comes up for you then you know your Java is working and it's something with that particular Java JAR file you're trying to run.

Jun 20, 2019 9:26 AM in response to MaxRy

Open up a Terminal app window and make sure you have Java installed by typing the command:

java