Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Cannot Add m4r file to itunes

Hello everyone. I've been playing around with adding new ring tones to my iphone 10s, but I've been having a lot of trouble.

https://discussions.apple.com/docs/DOC-12051

I've reviewed this guide, an audio file was created in audacity and it was saved as an m4r file directly so I was able to skip many of the steps. Also tried to add the file to the library through the file option, but it didn't work either.

But I cannot drag the file into itunes (i tried the sidebar as well, no luck). I can't drag the file directly into the tones section of my iphone either, because it says

So I'm a tad frustrated. The guide says drag it to media location\tones but I have no idea where that is on my computer, as my itunes does not have a tones folder, so maybe if I can get that working it'll help. I'm fairly new to using an iphone in general.

Any advice would be appreciated. THank you,

Using windows 10, itunes, 12.9

iPhone XS

Posted on Sep 26, 2019 2:43 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Sep 26, 2019 7:03 PM

.m4r is the file extension. Of itself that doesn't determine the internal format and consistency of the file which should be AAC and ideally 128K or 256K. iTunes won't open or play .m4r files. If you change the extension to .m4a, and it is a valid AAC file then it should play in iTunes. If iTunes won't add the file with a .m4a extension that tells you again the iTunes doesn't like think the internal structure is correct. What was the original source? Groove might play a valid media file regardless of whether the content is in a format implied by the file extension.

tt2

Similar questions

10 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Sep 26, 2019 7:03 PM in response to CaptainGee