Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Epson print drivers

I have been using an Epson 7800 24 inch printer for 9 years. It has suddenly started messing up my color output. It looks like the printer is double processing my color info. In general my prints are twisted toward too much magenta. It looks very much like the printer software is "assigning" a different profile than the one I choose.

I always print out of photoshop with "Photoshop Manages Colors, Black Point Compensation on.

I also tried printing by selecting "Printer Manages Colors, with Color Matching set to "Epson color controls" AND with Color Matching set to "ColorSync". I tried it with different profiles with different paper and reinstalled the Epson print driver. Print nozzles are clean. Nothing works.

Mac OS 10.12.6, Mac Pro

Any ideas?

Posted on Sep 30, 2019 10:26 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Sep 30, 2019 1:22 PM

If this ends in replacement, look for a large-format printer preferably with AirPrint support, or with IPP/IPPS support, or both, as these can avoid the need for vendor drivers. The replacement printer Epson is marketing for this (SureColor P6000) is oddly dated, based on its macOS support page listing only up through macOS 10.13 High Sierra. Also no interface protocol listings, which can be inferred to mean proprietary protocols and drivers.

13 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Sep 30, 2019 1:22 PM in response to VikingOSX

If this ends in replacement, look for a large-format printer preferably with AirPrint support, or with IPP/IPPS support, or both, as these can avoid the need for vendor drivers. The replacement printer Epson is marketing for this (SureColor P6000) is oddly dated, based on its macOS support page listing only up through macOS 10.13 High Sierra. Also no interface protocol listings, which can be inferred to mean proprietary protocols and drivers.