Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

FCPX - No Bounding Box With Shapes Generator

It seems a bounding box should show or at least have an option to turn it on. Nothing. Any ideas how to fix this. I've never used generators before but have used titles many times of course.

Posted on Dec 27, 2019 5:27 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Dec 27, 2019 5:49 PM

So the only way to move the arrow around much is to use transform x y? A bit awkward and slow compared to clicking on the arrow and dragging it to each key point which is what I expected. The problem with that is the arrow is cropped at the edge of the invisible bounding box.

15 replies

Dec 30, 2019 10:53 PM in response to caljim

DO NOT MAKE ANY CHANGES TO THE TRANSFORMS PARAMETERS for the Shape Generator... Reset them all to the original settings.

DO NOT CHANGE THE CENTER PARAMETER of the Shape Generator! (Except to move it out of the way of the Effects OSC so you can gain control of it.)

ONLY USE THE TRANSFORM PARAMETERS from the GenTransforms Effect: Position, Rotation, Scale and Shear. AND, once you move the Shape with the GenTransforms Position parameter or OSC out of the way, you can go back into the Shape Generator's parameters and RESET the Center parameter.

The Effect will move, rotate and scale the entire Shape generator. If you move the Shape with the Shape Generator's Center parameter, it will still go out of bounds. If you use any of the regular Transforms, you can seriously mess up what you want to do.

You will have the ability to move that Shape Generator to anywhere on (or even OFF) the screen.