You can make a difference in the Apple Support Community!

When you sign up with your Apple Account, you can provide valuable feedback to other community members by upvoting helpful replies and User Tips.

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Logic Pro 9 Basic Content Download

I've been searching for an answer to this issue, but nothing worked so far.

I'm using El Capitan with Logic Pro 9. I've been working this way for many many years and have just formatted my mac and this issue came up, and no solutions so far.

Thanks for your help.

MacBook Pro 15", OS X 10.11

Posted on Mar 16, 2020 12:15 PM

Question marked as Top-ranking reply

Posted on Apr 7, 2020 8:26 PM

Thanks for the response,

Problem Description: on a new/fresh reinstallation of Logic Pro (Not version X) from the App Store, the first thing it does on launch is attempt to download an "Essenitial Software" file of 2 GB in size. The only option is "Quit" which also quits logic if you select it. This also occurs for the GarageBand and MainStage Applications I reinstalled on my macs.

This download will progress all the way to the end, and then FAIL, reporting that the content could not be downloaded.

All menus from within Logic Pro are disabled so there is no way to perform an increment installation of this content.

All discussion threads on this topic that I could find had no solution. One pointed to a link that was dead. One mentioned interference from Little Snitch. I have it on one machine, but not others, and the behavior is the same for all of them.