Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Problem with Terminal Utility

After updating to Catalina 10.15.4, I was having instability problems and I tried to create a bootable external HD to run Mojave. Somehow I got it wrong when trying to follow the instructions found here:

https://9to5mac.com/2018/06/18/how-to-create-a-bootable-macos-mojave-10-14-usb-install-drive-video/

I now have the message in terminal:

"The default interactive shell is now zsh.

To update your account to use zsh, please run `chsh -s /bin/zsh`.

For more details, please visit https://support.apple.com/kb/HT208050."

What does this mean and what do I have to do?

iMac 21.5", macOS 10.15

Posted on Apr 6, 2020 7:07 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Apr 6, 2020 3:27 PM

... I've never used Terminal before ...

Then just run the command suggested, as if you are not a hard core Terminal user, the suggested change will not really make any difference to you, and it will stop that message from coming back:

chsh -s /bin/zsh

Quit the Terminal, and the next time you launch Terminal (if you ever have a need) that message about changing your shell will not appear.

NOTE: If you really want to know more about shells, their different flavors, what they do for you, why they are called a shell, etc... we can address that as well, but based on what you have said so far, working in the Terminal is not your normal thing, and all this Unix take is not for you.

Similar questions

6 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Apr 6, 2020 3:27 PM in response to maurice jones

... I've never used Terminal before ...

Then just run the command suggested, as if you are not a hard core Terminal user, the suggested change will not really make any difference to you, and it will stop that message from coming back:

chsh -s /bin/zsh