Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Adjusting Relative Volume Levels Globally

Hi, all:

I'm new to Final Cut Pro and I'm trying to figure things out.

I've created a project with the volume levels in proper proportion to each other, but they are all too loud since they are clipping. I need to change this.

I know that I can copy and paste attributes, but I'm not sure if I can paste attributes in a way that respects the relative relationship between clips in my current project. Is this possible?

If not, it might be best to use the Modify --> Adjust Volume --> Relative function. But although I know of that function, I'm uncertain as to the workflow. What is the process for doing so? Do I select all the clips within the project first, then run the above function? After that, what?

When I tried running this function, I didn't see a setting for actually making the adjustment to the volume. I'm unfamiliar with the interface. What am I missing?

Thanks for the help!

MacBook Pro 13", macOS 10.15

Posted on May 7, 2020 4:23 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on May 7, 2020 8:20 PM

Sounds like you are on it.

Using the Keyboard in the following example, I type in -6 and using the Keyboard hit Enter.

Yes, select the Timeline clips and not clips in the Browser.

All clips are lowered by -6db from the original audio level.

The other command, Absolute adjusts everything that is selected to that value.

If +5db is typed in every selected clip will have +5db as it's audio level.

Al

Similar questions

9 replies
Question marked as Best reply

May 7, 2020 8:20 PM in response to Sunshine_82

Sounds like you are on it.

Using the Keyboard in the following example, I type in -6 and using the Keyboard hit Enter.

Yes, select the Timeline clips and not clips in the Browser.

All clips are lowered by -6db from the original audio level.