Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

iPhone 4 with bumper and official Apple Dock

I don't seem to this subject anywhere - but it's one that is really annoying me.

I use the official Apple dock regularly everyday to keep the phone in view and synched as I'm a graphic designer. I also hate putting cases on things. So this 'fix' that Apple are offering becomes a problem for people like me who use a dock (and spent £25 getting one) as the iPhone 4 with a bumper case on - will not fit in it.

I spoke to Apple yesterday and they won't admit or deny it! I also spoke to two people on Apple Chat and the first cut me off and the second just kept copy and pasting this: "I do not have information confirming the iPhone will 100% fit snuggly into the iPhone 4 dock with the bumper on."

Anyone else think this is not acceptable - as in the 'fix' doesn't help me or others who use the dock frequently.

Macbook Pro, Mac OS X (10.6.4)

Posted on Jul 20, 2010 4:54 AM

39 replies

Jul 20, 2010 5:03 AM in response to Silverfox666

Not really problem solved in my eyes.

I move in and out of my office several times a day, so removing and adding the bumper approximately 5 times a day is a true ball ache. Don't forget, this phone didn't come cheap - so I don't expect hassle to go with it.

I have loads of Apple products, but this one is disappointing so far - but only due to this one problem.

I should get a refund for the dock too I reckon!

Jul 20, 2010 5:09 AM in response to Silverfox666

Currently there are no cases (bumpers either) that will fit the Apple Dock or any formfactor docks whatsoever. Open docks can't fit either so don't bother trying to connect your iPhone with an open dock (Some alarm clocks sell non-formfactored docks which works with the i4).