Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Safari won't open - "Safari Quit Unexpectedly" message

Hello, please be gentle with me, I'm far from an apple expert.

I've just restarted my macbook pro and safari won't open, showing a "Safari Quit Unexpectedly" message every time I try. Clicked for more details and lots of line of code appeared, which I'm afraid was a bit beyond my pay grade.

I've restarted a few times, with no joy. I'm writing this from Opera (which thank God I have!). Can anyone help?

Laptop is a 2017 13" macbook pro, running Mojave 10.14.6

Thanks!

MacBook Pro with Touch Bar

Posted on May 19, 2020 8:54 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on May 19, 2020 10:01 AM

Try opening Safari with the shift key held down. If that works, try Safari/Preferences/Advanced - enable the Develop menu, then go there and Empty Caches. Quit/reopen Safari and test. Then try Safari/History/Show History and delete all history items.  Quit/reopen Safari and test. You can also try try Safari/Clear History…. The down side is it clears all cookies. Doing this may cause some sites to no longer recognize your computer as one that has visited the web site.

If you still have problems, are you running any anti - virus programs? Using a VPN?

Try setting up another admin user account in System Preferences/Users & Groups to see if the same problem continues. Please post back on whether or not this worked. Also try the Safe Mode. Please post back on whether or not this worked.

Isolating an issue by using another user account    

Safe Mode - About.