Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Which Macbook Pro to get?

Hello,

I need advice on which macbook pro to get. I currently have a mid 2012 macbook pro 13" with 8GB Memory, 2.9 GHz Dual-Core Intel core i7, and 750GB of storage (with 336GB still available after a massive declutter). The past four years of this laptop have been frustrating to say the least, with issues with the ram regularly coming loose, startup issues, extremely slow performance, regular crashing and after several trips to apple it's time for an upgrade.

I have been looking at the 2020 13" macbooks and am struggling to decide where to upgrade. The £1,799 option is a little to out of my comfortable price range so have been looking at the two cheaper options.

I am an illustrator and regularly use software such as Adobe illustrator, dimensions and Indesign , I have also just started to use after effects- but this is more a hobby and less a priority. I also use an ipad pro to draw and it would be great to connect it up with the laptop.

Based on this it seems I would benefit from upgrading the 8GB to the 16GB Memory.

My question therefore is which if any upgrades are necessary/ should I prioritise when purchasing a new macbook . In terms of long term performance should I be looking at upgrading from 1.4GHZ to the 2GHZ Quad core processor or the storage from 256GB to 512GB, which one is more important?

Financially it would put me under strain to purchase the full set at £1799, but what I don't want to do is regret not and end up having to purchasing a new laptop in the near future. So please let me know if you think this may be the case.

The other option is to upgrade my current laptop with a new RAM and storage etc , however I don't know enough about this to know whether it is a sensible option.