Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

email address hacked

In the last few days I've gotten security alerts from Amazon, Microsoft, Netflix and many others. I talked to Amazon security and the common thread seems to be my email address. I've had the same email address since there was email, it's a verizon.net account. I use the Apple Mail client.

So, I've created a gmail address and changed all accounts. My question - if I delete my verizon.net email address, can I still access my old email on my Mac as an archive, just in case I need it? I wont get any new email to that address but will the old email remain available to me using the Apple Mail client even though the email address no longer exists? I think the mail is local on my Mac.

I'm sure this could be been explained in half the space, but I'm not very technical...

MacBook Air

Posted on Jun 6, 2020 9:25 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jun 7, 2020 4:15 AM

It depends on how email is setup. If its setup as POP then all data is saved locally but with IMAP you might loose it.

i would recommend to export your mailbox before you delete your mail account. Use this link https://support.apple.com/en-ca/guide/mail/mlhlp1030/mac

This will save selected mailbox to any folder you want. you can always import back to mail app.

Similar questions

4 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Jun 7, 2020 4:15 AM in response to skiroc

It depends on how email is setup. If its setup as POP then all data is saved locally but with IMAP you might loose it.

i would recommend to export your mailbox before you delete your mail account. Use this link https://support.apple.com/en-ca/guide/mail/mlhlp1030/mac

This will save selected mailbox to any folder you want. you can always import back to mail app.

Jun 7, 2020 8:58 AM in response to BobTheFisherman