What's wrong with hyperlinks in newer versions of Keynote?

I used to export Keynotes with embedded links (mostly emails and telephone calls CTAs) to PDF files.

They used to work just fine! I've even reopened older PDFs and everything works as expected.

But in newer version of Keynote, Pages and Numbers, embedded links on exported PDF files are just NOT THERE! They won't even appear as hyperlinks (the mouse cursor doesn't change when hovering on the supposed "buttons", on the exported PDFs!).

What's most unbelievable: LINKS DOESN'T EVEN WORK INSIDE KEYNOTE!

A simple "website" hyperlink like "tel:123456789" which should trigger a phone call when clicked… nope! No trabajo!

It's really annoying, considering that Microsoft Office files exported to PDF work just like a charm!

So… why don't just edit my documents in MS Office? BECAUSE I WANT MY BL•••Y KEYNOTE TO WORK!

Anyone has a solution for this? Or at least a workaround?

Thank you very much, in advance.

Posted on Jun 7, 2020 1:27 AM

Reply
1 reply

Jun 7, 2020 9:22 AM in response to wr3yes

I have no experience with phone calls on a Mac, we don't have the infrastructure for that here, so I can't give suggestions for phone usage.


Hyperlinks work perfectly on all our Mac systems, so try this quick test:


  • open a new blank Keynote presentation
  • place one of the shapes on the side (Insert > Shape)
  • with the shape selected go to: Format > Add Link > Web Page
  • type in www.apple.com in the Link text entry box
  • go to: File > Export to PDF and click Next
  • give the PDF a name and select Desktop, as the destination
  • click Export
  • go to the desktop and open the file



if the hyperlink does not work try resetting Keynote as follows:


complete all the following steps in the order listed:

 

1.    ensure you have a current backup of all your user files, saved to a separate drive

2.    close all applications

3.    uninstall Keynote; for this procedure to work, an application removal tool must be used, App Delete has a free trial and works for this procedure. It can be downloaded from the developer’s website here:  App Delete

4.    empty the Trash (Finder > Empty Trash)

5.    restart the Mac (Apple Menu > Restart);  Immediately after the Apple startup sound, press the shift key on the keyboard, release shift when the Apple icon appears. Start up will take longer than usual as the Mac is performing a software repair of the start up drive

6.    After the Mac is fully powered up, restart the Mac normally:   Apple Menu > Restart

7.    reinstall Keynote from the Mac App Store Application

8.    Restart the Mac again




This thread has been closed by the system or the community team. You may vote for any posts you find helpful, or search the Community for additional answers.

What's wrong with hyperlinks in newer versions of Keynote?

Welcome to Apple Support Community
A forum where Apple customers help each other with their products. Get started with your Apple Account.