Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Can Time Capsule act as WI-FI access point connected to router over ethernet?

Hi,

Network Noob here,

I have a router from my ISP and a AirPort Time Capsule connected to the router via ethernet cable on the other side of my house.

Is there a way I can configure my ISP modem/router and Airport TimeCapsule to transmit the same WI-FI network to I don't have to switch between WI-FI networks depending on where I am in the house.

Drew a picture....

Time Capsule

Posted on Jun 12, 2020 8:59 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jun 14, 2020 2:22 AM

Network Mode: changed to extend a network

This is wrong.. you must use create a wireless network.

Using Extend wireless only works with another Airport router and you MUST NOT connect by ethernet at the same time.

Wireless Network Name: Matching

Wireless Password: Matching

This is correct.

You can easily tell which client is connected.. open airport utility and check the wireless client list. Click the icon of the airport.. and in the summary roll your mouse point over the wireless client and a bunch of new info will pop up.

In the client you can also check which AP is being used.. hold down the option key on a Mac and click the wifi fan in the top menu.

This will give you the wireless stats from the computer end but also show BSSID which is the actual MAC address of the wireless in the AP.

So you can see good agreement between the Time Capsule which is working as AP and the Computer.

You can confirm BSSID or MAC address by holding down the option key and double clicking the Airport in the Airport Utility.

For your main router you will need to dig into the interface. Usually details are available on most routers under advanced wireless or network or LAN.

6 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Jun 14, 2020 2:22 AM in response to Julz Vern