Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Time Machine Not Backing Up - Cannot Connect to Back-up Disk

I've been backing up to AirPort Extreme for a couple of years... I do not want to say there was a problem with the last OS Update - but Time Machine has not been able to back-up since then.

Started off with a OSStatus error 5, found out that Time Machine was requesting Password - so ran Time Machine and selected back-up disk then entered Password.

Time Machine notified me that it was connecting - and then after a couple of minutes notified that it could not connect and provided an OSStatus error 2. ~?~ why can't it just tell me what the problem is ?

Ran Time Machine again and received OSStatus error 89. Haven't got a clue! Nothing has changed with the system setup, as I said at the start - only thing that has changed was OS update pushed by Apple. This should not be so hard to fix...

Posted on Jul 2, 2020 8:38 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jul 2, 2020 9:29 AM

Sorry about the confusing descriptions of components. Yes AirPort Extreme is set up as a wifi extender... and I have a stand-alone Airport Time Capsule that Time Machine accesses for back-ups. The TC is connected through Cat6 cable in my wired system.

I pulled an act of desperation in the end - and power cycled the TC - waited for it to restart, and then went through my original steps of selecting back-up disk, waiting for connection... and... the back-up started.

i spent too much time trying to decipher the OSStatus error codes. As you said, they are not overly helpful. I confirmed dates, and ran the last OS update on June 6... and back-ups stopped on June 7. I ignored messages for a couple of weeks since there was nothing pressing on my system to back-up. Started trying to figure things out a couple of days ago... got frustrated with the lack of progress and support.