You can make a difference in the Apple Support Community!

When you sign up with your Apple ID, you can provide valuable feedback to other community members by upvoting helpful replies and User Tips.

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Apple TV WiFi issues (Disconnecting)

Can anyone explain why the Apple TV WiFi is so awful and how to fix it? My Apple TV consistently stops responding to WiFi but is connected. This will happen anywhere from 30min-1hr-1hr1/2. It will show it’s still connected to WiFi but apps get no connection. I have to restart the device.

I work in IT for an MSP and have a lot of experience with networking installation and break/fix work. I have Nest Cameras, Nest thermostat, multiple 4K TVs that stream, multiple computers, phones, Sonos, smart plugs, Hue lighting, etc. NONE of these devices have any issues. I’ve also since upgraded my router and I still have the same exact issue; more interesting I bought a new Apple TV two months ago and it does the SAME exact thing!?!

Out of the 20+ devices connected to my network, these are the ONLY devices that have any connectivity issues. Nothing, I mean nothing else drops connection or stops responding on my network. Just to throw it out there my ISP speeds are

600D/20U Cable

My router is a Netgear RAX120 dual band router prior was a ASUS AX6000 tri-band

The two rooms the Apple TV’s reside get consistent DL speeds of 300mb+ on my phone, laptop, and Surface. The Apple TV even gets 300+ on the Speedtest app.

Based off the fact that I have two Apple TV’s, have had two different routers, no issues with any other devices and the Apple TVs react the exact same way; I refuse to believe it has anything to do with my network or router settings. It’s interesting to do a search on the internet and see the amount of people that have this same issue with no resolution.