Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Midi Keyboard not working with 16 inch MacbookPro

Hi!

I know the issue already came up but noone seems to have found a solution.

I bought a AKAI MPK 261 Midi Keyboard and I just can‘t get it to work with my 16 inch MBP... and I work as a technician in pro broadcasting :D

Using many different cables, external power etc. it wont be recognized in the Midi Studio or wherever, whereas it works like a charme when I plug it into my 27inch iMac and every other computer (but need to use it with the MPB only)

Any tips? :)

MacBook Pro with Touch Bar

Posted on Aug 3, 2020 8:40 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Sep 2, 2020 12:13 AM

I was able to solve the problem using an active (!) USB 2.0 (!) Hub for the keyboard. It's actually pretty ridiculous, but it works... and I used a proprietary USB-C to USB-A connector, no breakout box, wouldn't work with my breakout boxes and the hub either :D

So --> small cheap usb c to a adaptor and active usb 2.0 were the solution for me... had a chat with the AKAI support and the told me it had to be USB 2.0 and stuff when working under Catalina...

Similar questions

3 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Sep 2, 2020 12:13 AM in response to Carl_32

I was able to solve the problem using an active (!) USB 2.0 (!) Hub for the keyboard. It's actually pretty ridiculous, but it works... and I used a proprietary USB-C to USB-A connector, no breakout box, wouldn't work with my breakout boxes and the hub either :D

So --> small cheap usb c to a adaptor and active usb 2.0 were the solution for me... had a chat with the AKAI support and the told me it had to be USB 2.0 and stuff when working under Catalina...

Aug 5, 2020 1:39 PM in response to EricSiebert

Hello EricSiebert,