Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Update bundle package component's bridge version doesn't satisfy minimum requirement

Hi ! Just bought a new MacBook Pro 2020 13" because the repetitve keyboard bug on my 2018 MacBook Pro drove me nuts (I'm a developer and rely on blind typing)

The new MacBook came macOS 10.15.6 installed by the last owner.

I decided to follow my normal procedure to wipe the MacBook and install everything from scratch so I can easily restore the Time Machine image.

However the Catalina installer (booted from network, thus should be newest version) leaves me with a rather unsatisfying message here, that the installation couldn't be completed. A look into the console shows a more concrete error:

"Update bundle package component's bridge version doesn't satisfy minimum requirement"

I also used the Apple Configurator 2 to "revive" by device but it doesn't make any difference .

I assume that the available system image used for the Network Install is lower than 10.5.6 and with the jump to 10.5.6 (which the pre-owner already installed) the bridgeOS got updated.

Is that the case? How can I exit the loop? Is there any chance to force boot a higher, OS version such as Big Sur from the network install?

I'm really annoyed right now, as none of my Macs is really working but a few years back, such problems would never have occurred.

And the local Apple Support has no free slots, while if my ThinkPad would break down I would have pickup service - but it just doesn't... But well, I need Apple hardware to work, so that needs to be solved 🤷🏽‍♂️

MacBook Pro 13″, macOS 10.12

Posted on Aug 5, 2020 3:38 AM

Similar questions

36 replies

Aug 5, 2020 12:55 PM in response to philffm

I have the same issue. 2020 Macbook Pro 13" bought in June.