Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Newsroom Update

Apple Music today announced the release of its 100 Best Albums of all time, a list crafted by Apple Music’s experts alongside industry professionals. Learn more >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Local Apple Music Library

I am a developer of an app that utilizes the Apple Music Library to pull track information for use in the application I am writing.

When I first started writing my app I decided to keep my Music Library on an SD card so I could easily move it between my development machine (iMac) and use it on my business laptop (MacBook Pro). However, Music being the way it is, it is bound and determined that any music library MUST be stored on the local hard drive. I have run into so many headaches where Music will suddenly try to reorganize my music and move it from the SD card to the local hard drive, subsequently breaking my app. The Music app really does have a mind of its own!

So, to alleviate the problems I am having, I decided to go another approach. I deleted the contents of my /User/{userdomain}/Music folder and then emptied the trash to ensure I was starting with a clean slate with Music on my local hard drive.

I launched the Music app and then went to preferences and then clicked on the Files option. The default "Music Media folder location" the Music app chooses is /iMacHD/Users/{userdomain}/Music/Music/Media/, so I changed it to /iMacHD/Users/{userdomain}/Music, thinking it does not need a redundant folder structure. I also checked the boxes for "Keep Music Media folder organized" and "Copy files to Music Media folder when adding to library" options.