Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

HD Read & Write permissions

I have acquired an older iMac which had been erased/wiped/cleaned prior to sale, as normal. A tech installed the latest version of Catalina, and now something is very wrong.

I can’t write to the HD. When the tech installed the system somehow, although I was designated as an Admin, my name is not shown on the first line of the HD ‘Get Info’ window under ’Sharing & Permissions, which would normally have designated me for both Read & Write.

Normally the new user you create when you first set up your Mac is an Admin.

‘Users & Groups’, shows that I am logged in as an Admin.

The HD ‘Get Info’ window shows ’Sharing & Permissions’ as follows:

• system        Read & Write
  • admin          Read only
  • everyone.    Read only

So, instead of my name appearing first, with read & write privileges, all I see is the word ’system.’

When I click on the admin Read only privilege to change it to Read & Write, I get an error window which says I don’t have the necessary permission to make the change.

So essentially I’m not designated as the root admin.

Anybody know what’s going on here and how to correct it?

iMac 27″, macOS 10.15

Posted on Sep 15, 2020 5:28 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Sep 16, 2020 7:49 AM

Yeah' Catalina is a lot different than the previous OS X and macOS versions.

Have a look at > About the read-only system volume in macOS Catalina - Apple Support

and > https://www.macworld.com/article/3451363/why-you-might-see-a-new-data-disk-in-catalina.html

Edit: also keep in mind that 10.15 Catalina is a 64Bit OS and that older 32Bit app's will no longer run in it. If this and the new file system are a problem for you, then you might want to consider running Mojave until you can find 64Bit replacements. see > https://www.stclairsoft.com/Go64/

4 replies
Question marked as Best reply