Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Vertical Text in Keynote Disappointment

I am a teacher and I use Keynote to create my grading rosters. I am so disappointed that I am not able to enter the assignment description vertically in Keynote like I am in Excel. Why does Mac not provide this capability? Quite frankly, it is a big pain in the keester to have to add a 90 degree text box in every cell for this task! I love Mac, but this one's a frustrating mystery.

Posted on Oct 5, 2020 7:41 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Oct 5, 2020 3:25 PM

Excel is a spreadsheet, and Keynote is a presentation tool. Different application purposes. Apple's applications are neither clones of their Microsoft counterparts, nor is Apple attempting to put familiar Microsoft features in its applications.

In Keynote, you can insert a Textbox, enter your text in two different orientations, and from the Arrange panel, set the rotation to any degree you choose in single degree increments:

Similar questions

4 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Oct 5, 2020 3:25 PM in response to PamelainArizona

Excel is a spreadsheet, and Keynote is a presentation tool. Different application purposes. Apple's applications are neither clones of their Microsoft counterparts, nor is Apple attempting to put familiar Microsoft features in its applications.

In Keynote, you can insert a Textbox, enter your text in two different orientations, and from the Arrange panel, set the rotation to any degree you choose in single degree increments:

Oct 6, 2020 5:36 AM in response to PamelainArizona

PamelainArizona wrote:

I am a teacher and I use Keynote to create my grading rosters. I am so disappointed that I am not able to enter the assignment description vertically in Keynote like I am in Excel. Why does Mac not provide this capability?

Have you tried using Numbers for this purpose, not Keynote?