Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

bootcamp and M1

does the new macbook air with a M1 has a bootcamp?

MacBook

Posted on Nov 10, 2020 1:39 PM

47 replies

Nov 12, 2020 9:06 AM in response to sievebrain

sievebrain wrote:

Then I will no longer be purchasing Apple products. I'm a developer and the combination of Apple hardware with the ability to boot natively in Windows is the sole reason I purchased my Mac Pro Desktop (Yes, $4,000.00+). It allowed me to develop software for ANY platform. Parallels, as good as it is, is still painfully slow to develop with. I'm sure one of the main reasons sales sky rocketed in 2006 (when you switched to Intel) was exactly this reason.

'You' is not Apple here in this discussion. 😉.

• If you buy an Intel-based Mac, you can use Bootcamp.
  • If you buy an Apple M1 Mac, you will need to use Virtualization.

The choice is a buyer's choice.

You've made a huge mistake, basically taking a step backward to the days of the PowerPC and all the issues that came along with that.

Product Feedback - Apple is the best resource for such feedback, not the ASC.

You've now basically lost both the development and gaming population. I can run all my Steam games very nicely when I boot to Windows on my Mac Pro Desktop. Now I won't be able to do that as well.

Gaming is not the only vertical industry that uses Macs. The Corporate world uses Macs, too. Other software development utilizes the U*nix features of Macs.

No matter how fast this environment is, nobody will be developing games for it just like nobody develops games for it now. You'll only have the same, frankly lame games you currently have.

Microsoft Surface Pro X uses an ARM 64 SoC.

HUGE MISTAKE.

Time will tell. 😜

Nov 11, 2020 7:03 AM in response to sude13

Lol, I spoke with Apple this morning and was told I could partition the drive and install Windows but that was their general support team for existing Macs.