Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Apple support scam

I figured out this was a scam, unfortunately it was too late. I was called by a “supposed apple tech support “ person and it scared me, I am new to apple merchandise. He was Asian Indian and asked if I’d been shopping online at Walmart or target. That there was suspected activity on my account. I was scared and gave him access through an app to access my phone. So afterwards he hung up and didn’t call me back. So I called the latest phone number back, it was a scam. The number was unused phone number. Even if I changed my passwords and deleted my cards and erased my Apple Pay, is that enough? Is my info now compromised? The biggest scare was he said Russians and Chinese were trying to use my Apple ID to purchase gift cards online.

Posted on Nov 19, 2020 3:24 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Nov 20, 2020 4:29 PM

Yes that is a clear scam attempt, apple would never call you up like that

Recognize and avoid phishing messages, phony support calls, and other scams - Apple Support

Apple will never call you unless you have asked to be called. or have an ongoing support case.

To secure your account:

If you think your Apple ID has been compromised - Apple Support

He wont continue to have access to your account, but any information you might have provided to him he might still have, so make sure to block any credit cards you might have given, and change any passwords.

Good luck!

Similar questions

3 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Nov 20, 2020 4:29 PM in response to sonshinedove

Yes that is a clear scam attempt, apple would never call you up like that

Recognize and avoid phishing messages, phony support calls, and other scams - Apple Support

Apple will never call you unless you have asked to be called. or have an ongoing support case.

To secure your account: