Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Help needed looking for new iMac

Hi, I am thinking of replacing my old 27" iMac with a newer model as it is now out of warranty and can no longer get support and the machine cannot run software later than High Sierra.

How can I get advice on a equivalent model to mine from the range to-day. The range has changed quite bit. I love my iMac but I am not technical at all and the specs on-line don't mean anything to me. Also my budget is not unlimited. I have checked and I can get a trade in for what I have but I just don't know where to start with a suitable replacement.

My local store is shut due to lockdown.

iMac 27″, macOS 10.13

Posted on Nov 22, 2020 9:08 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Nov 22, 2020 9:38 AM

I fully agree with the advice given. The question is where to start? I've ordered on line and I like the process, as well as using their trade in process. You probably will want a computer with the same sized screen. Two things I am sure that rkaufmann would agree with me on is to buy enough RAM for all of your needs. And only get a Mac with a solid state (SSD) drive, as large as you can afford. Additionally, if you do not have a back up drive, be sure to get one as well. Now days, external drives are very reasonably priced. Enjoy your Mac.

Similar questions

6 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Nov 22, 2020 9:38 AM in response to Puffinpunk