Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

“Your screen is being observed” Mac Message

I keep getting this message, "your screen is being observed" before I log into my iMac. How do I stop my screen from being observed?

[Re-Titled by Moderator]

iMac 21.5″, macOS 10.12

Posted on Dec 12, 2020 4:51 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Dec 21, 2020 7:13 PM

Try checking the icons in your top menu bar to see if a screen recording is happening. I saw the same message a few hours after triggering a screen recording with CMD + Shift + 5. I was able to close the recording, and the message on the Lock Screen disappeared.

36 replies

Dec 25, 2020 12:47 AM in response to Kurt Lang

Hi Kurt, I'm completely new to Mac. I was also having the same issue on my new personal MacBook Pro just now and it really sketched me out. How do I find out and also revoke which apps or software on my end are trying to access my screen? Is there a centralized hub for this and where is it located, if you wouldn't mind helping me out? Again, completely new to Mac OS.

Jun 10, 2021 8:45 AM in response to alohatac

This message means that an app has permission to "see" the contents of your screen and is currently exercising that privilege. (It need not be recording of the screen per se. )

Of the built-in apps, this is typically the built-in Screen Capture feature has been unknowingly triggered to record your screen (Shift-Cmd-5).

Of the 3rd-party apps, it would be one or more of the apps in Apple Menu > System Preferences… > Security & Privacy > Screen Recording

Dec 12, 2020 5:30 PM in response to alohatac

From one online forum:

Person 1: Seems to be tied to applications having screen recording permission. I revoked it from my display link manager and the message was gone. When I re-enabled the permission the message returned

Person 2: Ah thanks dude, it was that :)