Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

How do I get rid of Apple's system fonts from external booting drive?

Hello. I'm a designer using Adobe programs.

While using these programs, I suffered from fonts that I will never use in my life.

I thought it was an Adobe or a Google problem, but found out that these fonts were downloaded by Apple as a built-in fonts

-> Fonts included with macOS Catalina : https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT210192

Since Apple doesn't allow us to hide or delete them by Fonts app or any other way, I tried to find a way to get rid of this ridiculous font list and found a topic about a same problem.

-> Noto Fonts : https://discussions.apple.com/thread/251126005

In this discussion, 'Kurt Lang' says that we can install the OS at an external memory, and boot into the external memory OS, and modify the non-startup drive.

I know how to install the OS at an external memory, and boot into the external memory OS.

But I don't know how to get in to the non-startup drive system folder and delete the fonts.

In the drive I'm using, I found out that the Noto fonts are at 'Macintosh HD > System > Library > Fonts > Supplemental'.

But these fonts are impossible to delete. So I'm trying to delete this fonts by accessing through an external memory OS.

Can somebody tell me how, or introduce a link for this method? It would be a great help for Korean designers who are having the same problem.

MacBook Pro 15″, macOS 10.15

Posted on Dec 26, 2020 1:47 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Dec 26, 2020 7:51 AM

But these fonts are impossible to delete.

You must be trying to remove the fonts on the same drive or partition you are currently booted to. You can't do that. Also to clarify a bit, drives are not memory (RAM). They are storage devices.